Grocery Guide

I had a subbing job lined up for today but because of the icy roads and incoming snow storm, school got out at noon! So I have some time to do a post that I knew would take a while: my basic grocery guide! I went through my kitchen and snapped some pictures of products/foods I use the most and have listed others that are basics on my grocery list. Eating healthy can be  more expensive but I’ve found that a lot of the products I get (coconut oil for example) are a little spendy but last a long time and are totally worth it!

When I started my whole journey three years ago, I went through the fridge and pantry and threw away all processed food, candy, and junk that I knew wasn’t healthy.  I highly recommend doing this. Since I did this on my own and live with my boyfriend who wasn’t totally up for all these changes, I set aside an area where he could keep some food that I would no longer be eating. It was tempting to have those items still in the kitchen but not everyone around you is going to want to do what you’re doing and it’s important to remember that.

Here are my grocery basics:

Fruit: bananas, apples, berries, grapefruit, oranges, kiwi, mango, grapes, lemons, limes, clementines, pears, tomatoes(I usually always buy bananas and apples and then choose 2 other fruits that are on sale)

Veggies: kale, spinach, romaine lettuce, carrots, avocado, brussel sprouts, broccoli, cauliflower, snap peas, green beans, asparagus, radishes, mushrooms, broccoli slaw, zucchini, bell peppers, onions, cucmbers, celery, beets, rhubarb, sauerkraut, artichokes (always buy romaine, spinach, avocado, carrots and then choose 2-3 other veggies for the week)

Legumes/Starchy Veggies: black beans, kidney beans, garbanzo beans, pinto beans, lentils, pumpkin, sweet potatoes/yams, spaghetti squash, butternut squash, acorn squash

Grains: barley, brown rice, oats, quinoa, wild rice, whole wheat bread/pastas/crackers/cereals (will be cutting these out for Whole30 program)

Meat/Dairy: fish (salmon, tuna,  tilapia), ground turkey, chicken, chicken sausage, turkey bacon, pork, ground beef, cornish game hens, Greek yogurt, eggs, feta, almond milk

Spices/Flavoring/Herbs: coconut oil, olive oil, sesame oil, liquid aminos, apple cider vinegar, honey, huge variety of spices, cilantro, parsley, sage, thyme

Other: Larabars, pita chips, jam, almond butter, pretzels, air popped popcorn, broths, soups, hummus, chia seeds, flax seeds

photo 3 (13)

jars full of almonds, cashews, pecans, dried apricots, and granola

photo 1 (10)

in my fridge: unsweetened vanilla almond milk, lacroix, coconut milk creamer, greek yogurt, Annie’s salad dressing, organic peanut butter, and Trader Joe’s almond butter, hummus, and feta

photo 1 (11)

freezer: frozen fruit (strawberries, mango, mixed berries, pineapple, bananas) and frozen veggies (stir fry mix, peas, carrots, onions, green beans) Trader Joes is where I got most of this

photo 2 (12)

chia seeds, flax seeds, unsweetened coconut, coconut oil, dijon mustard, olive oil, liquid aminos, and apple cider vinegar

photo 2 (13)

freezer: pitas, bread, homemade cornbread, ground turkey, fish, chicken sausage, veggies burgers, brown rice

photo 3 (14)

pantry: tuna, black olives, green olives, black beans, garbanzo beans, pizza sauce, pasta sauce, coconut milk, lentil soup and split pea soup (check labels for natural ingredients!)

photo 4 (10)

spice up your food! it’s a fun way to change up veggies and meat. I love adding cinnamon to oats and smoothies and Himalayan sea salt is the best!

photo 5 (8)

pantry: harvest grain cereal, rolled oats, multigrain oats, steel cut oats, rice cakes, sunflower seeds, craisins, edamane and goji berries

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

