Whole30 Days 8 and 9

I will start with descriptions of my meals and then have some reflections to share on my first completed week!

Breakfasts:

Sunday: repeat apple eggs (this time with added applesauce), kale, and homemade turkey sausage patties! super good

photo 1 (8)

blurry ūüė¶

Monday: 1/2 grapefruit, asparagus and an amazing breakfast “sandwich” (I put a fried egg and a ground turkey sausage patty between two carrot/sweet potato cakes)

Recipe: http://www.multiplydelicious.com/thefood/2012/09/sweet-potato-carrot-cakes/

photo 1 (7)Lunches

Sunday: green beans, roasted kabocha squash, and pan fried mahi mahi topped with tomato, cilantro and avocado mayo served on romaine lettuce

photo 2 (7)

Monday: no picture! another day subbing and I forgot to take one! I had leftover coconut chicken tenders on a big salad with arugula, romaine, tomatoes, bell peppers, olives and avocado mayo dressing with an apple

Dinners:

Sunday: chicken stir fry (zucchini, carrot, bell peppers, mushrooms, onion) served on cauliflower rice (super tasty!)

Recipe: Pulse small head of cauliflower (broken into florets) in a food processor until cauliflower is size of rice. Chop some onion and garlic and saute in skillet with a tablespoon of coconut oil until tender.  Add cauliflower rice and cook with lid on for 5-7 minutes. I gave it a stir a few times.

photo 3 (6)

Monday: green beans yet again (need to start switching it up!) with crockpot pork with sauerkraut, carrots, onion, and turnips

photo 3 (5)

For workouts, yesterday I did hip hop tabata: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jf0nEpG8tno&list=FLindJlBZpCU2hWy88WLfwtw&index=19

Today I did a HIIT workout: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OGDjXDMA0Nk&list=FLindJlBZpCU2hWy88WLfwtw&index=20

I also took Sadie on a 45 minute walk in the beautiful 50 degree weather today and Matt and I took her on an hour walk yesterday by the river! Loving this warmer weather and Sadie is too!

photo 2 (6)

Now onto my reflections for week 1. ¬†First of all, I am not missing dairy, sugar, grains, or legumes at all! I am kind of surprised that I can say that because I really thought I would miss bread, oatmeal, hummus, black beans, and yogurt. ¬†I haven’t craved any sugar since I decided that I wasn’t going to eat any and I have less stomach issues. ¬†I always used to feel bloated and icky after eating breakfast or snacks. ¬†I also used to always be hungry! Even ten minutes after breakfast I would already be hungry for something else. ¬†After a week on the Whole30, I have been full after each meal and felt satisfied! It’s due to having protein (eggs and/or some kind of meat) with lots of veggies and fats (coconut oil, olives, avocado, etc.). ¬†I love how these breakfasts make me feel in the morning! I don’t have as many negative emotions towards food and never have that guilty feeling that used to follow almost every meal I ate previously.

However, here is the negatives of this week. ¬†We have spent $280 on groceries! That’s our monthly budget spent in one week! I had to buy a lot of spendy items at the beginning that should last the whole month (oils, almond butter, meat, nuts) but have had to make numerous trips to the store because we were out of veggies, fruit, or eggs. Also, it is a very time consuming way of eating! I already used to meal plan and cook a lot but this involves so much more. I plan out meals for the week so there isn’t a time where we have no idea what to do and end up caving in for a pb&J. ¬†I have to make sure that I have some kind of leftovers for the next days lunch and I need to cook some of the more time consuming meals on the weekend or whenever I have time during the week. ¬†Lastly, it is stressful to be so restricted. There were multiple times that Matt and I had to turn down dinner or lunch plans with others because we did not want to deal with having to figure out what to eat at a restaurant. When we were out and about running errands this weekend we weren’t at home during lunch time and had to wait until later in the afternoon to eat lunch–by that time I was starving and crabby and had to go home and spend time cooking a Whole30 approved meal. ¬†The food was worth the wait and I loved every meal, but the negatives are making me rethink this.

Matt and I decided to finish the week off on the Whole30 and then spend the following days reintroducing dairy, grains, and legumes back into our diet. ¬†By the end of the week, we will have made it half way and I am proud of that. If I had more money and time, I would continue this without a doubt. However, Matt is a college student and I am a substitute teacher and we are about to move to a more expensive town home April 1st and this might not work for the whole 30 days. I hate having to quit but I think it is the smartest choice. ¬†I would love to try the entire 30 days sometime this summer when farmer’s market produce is available! I will be continuing to eat meals like the ones I have been having but will be able to stretch out our eggs and meat (most expensive items) a little more by having grains, legumes, and dairy back in the mix.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

