Whole 30 Reintroduce Grains

The first day of the reintroduction process began yesterday and I was a little nervous. I didn’t think that dairy, grains, or legumes would really have that much of a negative affect on my body but I was worried that once I tried them again, after cleansing my body of them for 14 days, they would give me problems.  Here’s what I ate (grain day!) and how it affected me:

Breakfast: steel cut oats with almond butter, banana, cinnamon, sliced pecans, and coconut milk

photo 1 (14)Outcome: ate this at 8:30 and did not feel as satisfied eating this for breakfast instead of my usual eggs and veggie combos. I actually was hungry again at 10:30 which lately I haven’t been hungry since 12:00.  About 15 minutes after eating this, my stomach made rumbly noises and I had to go to the bathroom 😦 chest pain and tummy pain!

Lunch: chicken sausage, peas, harvest grain blend and roasted root veggies (brussel sprouts, beets, carrots, parsnips and pearl onions)

photo 2 (14)

Outcome: late lunch because I was running errands so I was starving by the time I had this and probably ate too fast. I also felt hungry still because I ate so quickly so I had a small piece of rye bread with avocado too. Within an hour, stomach pains were back and my head felt foggy.  I could barely keep my eyes open and had no energy so ended up laying down on the couch and falling asleep for an hour! I rarely take naps, even when I am sick, so this was very unusual!

Dinner: one of the best I’ve ever had! corned beef in the crockpot all day with sauerkraut and homemade thousand island dressing on rye bread with asparagus and sweet potato fries!

photo 3 (13)

Outcome: sugar snuck in on this meal too (corn beef, rye and ketchup) however the rye did not affect me the way the oatmeal and the harvest grains did.  I didn’t feel too tired or icky until later when Matt and I had a wheat beer with some friends.  The beer made me extremely tired 😦

Overall–may have a gluten sensitivity. I had stomach pains 80% of the day (bloating, gas, cramps).  No headache, just foggy head and fatigue. I might want to try taking gluten out for a week and reintroduce it again to see if it affects me the same way.  If so, no gluten or very limited amounts

Saturday

So today it was back to the Whole30 to see the complete affect grains have on me.  Overall, I felt better today and had most of my energy back.  I did get extremely bad cramps and stomach pains around 6 PM that lasted the rest of the night.  It may be from the salad dressing I had with safflower oil and the sunflower seeds :/ not sure though

Breakfast: made an egg bake! Matt and I ate a whole row of it! All I did was brown a pound of ground pork and put it on the bottom of a 9×13. Then I sauteed some bell peppers, zucchini, onion, and tomatoes in ghee and put it on the pork. Then I used a hand mixer to beat 10 eggs with salt, pepper, parsley, and basil and poured it on top. Baked at 350 for around 30 minutes.

photo 1 (13)

Lunch: had a carrot cake Larabar at around 1:00 PM since I was out running errands and made this salad at 2:00: romaine, cucumber, tomato, bell pepper, carrots, chicken sausage, lemon and chive dressing, sunflower seeds and a pear a bit after

photo 3 (12)

Dinner: peas, broccoli sprinkled with nutritional yeast (gives a cheesy flavor and is really good for you), roasted acorn squash, and lemon dill salmon (ate 3/4 of salmon and saved some for breakfast)

photo 4 (9)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

