Ending the Whole30 Reintroduction Phase

Yesterday summary:

The day after non-gluten grains and I feel okay except I got no sleep last night due to the latte 😦 I can’t have caffeine too late in the day or it really ruins my night.  I also picked up a sore throat from the kids at school but other than that, I didn’t feel anything out of the ordinary. Since my throat was so sore, I started my day with a mango, banana, ginger, spinach smoothie and had breakfast an hour or so later.  The smoothie made me pretty full but I still knew I should have some protein and veggies so……

Breakfast: leftover egg bake and a leftover pumpkin gluten free pancake (not supposed to have any grains at all today but really wanted leftovers! plus non-gluten didn’t bother me too much so I told myself it was fine—however this did take me over the edge of fullness)

photo 1 (11)

Since I ate too much this morning, I did have a belly ache all morning and was not hungry again until late afternoon.  Matt and I were out and about again without a lunch plan and it was quite stressful. It’s hard to get a quick lunch without going somewhere spendy or sit-down (I was thinking a burger without a bun and some veggies or a good salad with chicken).  Since non-gluten grains had already snuck back into my day, I decided to give Erbert and Gerberts sandwich shop a try.  I’ve had it before but never the gluten free bread.

Lunch: Narmer: Turkey and Avocado with lettuce and tomato (no mayo or cheese). It was pretty good but a little dry and too much bread. I ripped a lot of it off and actually saved half to fix up at home. I added dijon mustard, more tomato, cucumber slices and a hard boiled egg. Now that’s a sandwich! I really didn’t need as much bread with all those other toppings that are way more nutritious anyways! I also added some carrots and strawberries as a side.

photo 2 (10)

photo 3 (9)

Dinner: crockpot pork with granny smith apples and sweet potato and a side of steamed brussel sprouts in olive oil

photo 4 (8)I’m happy to say that non-gluten grains did not ruin my day like whole grains did. I tested them for two days and the worst was just that too full feeling that I had after every meal (except dinner! I felt great after that!).  My stomach just felt bloated and I know it’s because I ate just as much as I did on the Whole30 but with added grains.

Today’s Summary:

Workouts: 40 minute total body workout and took Sadie on an hour walk (yesterday did a walk too!)

Breakfast: legume day! I started with a half grapefruit and then a bit later made fried plantains and mexican scrambled eggs: zucchini, bell pepper, onion, olives, tomato, spinach, egg, and black beans (immediately had stomach gurgling and had to go to the bathroom. extremely gasey and had lower abdominal pain. the stomachache lasted a few hours and then went away: going to try less beans at a time to see if it helps)

photo 5 (4)

Lunch: wasn’t super hungry so I left some of the salad to have a little later; had vegetable lentil soup from Trader Joe’s, a romaine/spinach salad with cucumber, radish, carrot, tomato, avocado, chicken and a homemade apple cider vinegar dressing with some blackberries and strawberries (the soup did not bother me at all! yay for lentils!)

photo (3)

I snacked on some dried edamame and that left me gasey; not choosing that as a snack option anymore, unless I’m really in the mood for it. I have noticed that since I’ve reintroduced these foods and sugar has snuck in a little bit, I have way more cravings and snacking urges. Even when I’m full or not long after a meal, I am looking in the fridge for something small to eat.  My hunger can’t be fully satisfied 😦 Looking at my results overall this week, the foods that I had the most issues with were whole grains (fatigue, stomach issues, foggy mind, chest pain/side pain), dairy (day after had swollen itchy lips and some cramping) and a little bit of legumes (depending on the type).  Non-gluten did not bother me except making me too full but that is because I am eating too much when I add those to my plate.  To fully know if grains and dairy need to be eliminated for good, I am planning on doing a two week cleanse again where I get rid of those and then add them back to see if the results are the same.

To end this long post, I am heading to my parents house for the weekend which will be my first time putting these Whole30 lessons to the test. I am a little nervous that I will fall into cravings or get sick from something but I am going to go with a positive mindset and have fun with it.  My parents seem interested in adding some of the healthy meals to their lives so I look forward to cooking this weekend. Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

