Weekend Challenges

The weekend was full of positives and negatives and I’m sad to say that I think gluten and possibly dairy free might be a new lifestyle for me.  My weekend with family was great filled with lots of card games, organizing some stuff for moving, and just spending good quality time together. However, I felt pretty icky all weekend after eating every meal and am pretty sure that gluten (or wheat or another grain….not sure yet) and dairy are the cause. I will post my eats and then my notes on how I felt.

Friday Dinner: broccoli/cauliflower, sweet potato apple mash, corn, corn beef brisket

First time having corn and the sweet potatoes had marshmallows in it…..felt fine

photo 1 (13)

 

Saturday Breakfast: 2 eggs, broccoli, zucchini, fish, berries with almond butter

I felt pretty full but not sick.  Unfortunately when I went to town with my mom, we made a stop at the bakery and she got a dozen of my favorite doughnuts: fried cinnamon! I could not resist and had to have one. I felt guilty immediately but enjoyed every bite until about ten minutes later when my stomach started grumbling. The hours that followed were full of stomach pains and then my head got foggy feeling and I felt super tired.

photo 2 (11)

Lunch: chicken sausage stir fry with snap peas, broccoli, cauliflower and strawberries with pineapple (lots and lots!)

All afternoon felt out of it; did not want to do anything and felt groggy.

Dinner: small grilled turkey burger and 1/2 beef burger on portabella mushroom, salsa, guacamole, romaine, sweet potato fries with honey greek yogurt

I felt super full however it was delicious! The yogurt did not give me any problems right away but the next morning my lip rash was back!

photo 3 (11)

 

Sunday Breakfast: apple omelet, corn beef, yogurt, 1/2 c. coffee with creamer

I made omelets for everyone and they loved the apple egg combo. I couldn’t resist the yogurt even though I know that it for sure gives me swollen itchy lips. My sinuses started acting up within an hour and my throat felt super sore.

photo 4 (10)Lunch: grilled veggies: bell peppers, onion, zucchini, cauliflower and grilled chicken with avocado, roasted squash

This was one of the best meals I’ve cooked ever! I love grilled veggies 🙂 I felt good after this meal but too full because I overate squash and chicken! I also munched on a lot of fruit while cooking so I need to work on that.

photo 5 (5)

 

photo 1 (12)

 

I did not feel well all afternoon and did not want dinner but forced myself to have leftover turkey burger and veggies around 7. Even though I didn’t have a lot of grains or dairy, just the little that I had really made me feel bad. Also eating too much healthy food is still going to give me belly aches. My decision is to do a gluten and dairy elimination for 3 weeks starting in April to see if that helps and then reintroduce those foods again to see if they give me the same reactions.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

